Orchestra Of The Age Of Enlightenment / Sir András Schiff (conductor/piano)

Orchestra Of The Age Of Enlightenment / Sir András Schiff (conductor/piano)

Saturday, 23 March 2019, 8.00pm

Orchestra Of The Age Of Enlightenment
Sir András Schiff, Conductor/Piano

Schumann Konzertstück in G major, Op. 86
Schumann Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

Described as ‘Nothing Short of Astounding’ by The New York Times, Sir András Schiff makes a welcome return to the NCH after a gap of nearly 8 years with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment to perform a programme of Brahms and Schumann. The famed 30-year-old orchestra who boast a range of principal artists such as Sir Mark Elder, Iván Fischer, Vladimir Jurowksi and Sir Simon Rattle, have garnered a reputation for ‘change, excellence, diversity and exploration’ and are widely considered to be ‘Britain’s indisputably best period instrument ensembles’. Bachtrack.com described a recent performance by Sir András Schiff with the OAE as ‘truly revelatory’ making this a concert worth waiting for. 

Presented by NCH 
Supported by The Irish Times  and RTÉ Supporting the Arts

For booking, visit www.nch.ie.

Orchestra Of The Age Of Enlightenment
Principal Artists

John Butt
Sir Mark Elder
Iván Fischer
Vladimir Jurowski
Sir Simon Rattle
Sir András Schiff

Emeritus Conductors

William Christie
Sir Roger Norrington

Three decades ago, a group of London musicians took a good look at that curious institution we call the orchestra, and decided to start again from scratch. They began by throwing out the rulebook. Put a single conductor in charge? No way. Specialise in repertoire of a particular era? Too restricting. Perfect a work and then move on? Too lazy. The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment was born.

Since then, the OAE has shocked, changed and mesmerised the music world. Residencies at the Southbank Centre and Glyndebourne haven’t numbed its experimentalist bent. Record deals haven’t ironed out its quirks. Period-specific instruments have become just one element of its quest for authenticity.

Today the OAE is cherished more than ever. It still pushes for change, and still stands for excellence, diversity and exploration. And almost three decades on, there’s still no orchestra in the world quite like it.


Schumann: Symphony No.4 in D minor (1841 version) - Rattle / Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Published on 13 March 2019

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.