Banbha Quartet  - Spring String Series

Banbha Quartet - Spring String Series

Saturday, 21 January 2023, 1.00pm

The Banbha Quartet is one of several fine new Irish quartets promoted by the National String Quartet Foundation and establishing an exciting reputation amongst audiences throughout the country. Their opening concert in our spring quartet series starts with music by Grażyna Bacewicz, a leading figure in Polish musical life during and after the Second World War. A successful violinist, her compositions include seven violin concertos and seven string quartets, of which No.4 is among the best known. Jane O’Leary’s forever begin was written in 2020 as ‘a sort of fanfare for strings – conveying a sense of excitement, anticipation, hope and optimism – a sense of new beginnings’. Following on in the same vein, Dvořák’s popular and irrepressible ‘American’ quartet celebrates the composer’s new-found enjoyment of American folk music.

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.